California Bound

Do you have a lot of mental stuff to process? Need a break from the constant communication? Or do you just like being alone? Drive 2400 miles in 4 days all by yourself. It’s seriously meditative, and, so long as the traffic holds off, it can be centering and relaxing. (OMG! The family camping two sites over has the whiniest dog and the loudest kid.) Back to the relaxation of driving solo…my drive comes to a pause tomorrow. I kind of wish it were longer. I totally wish I had done this sooner. I thought this trip was going to put me outside of my comfort zone. So far the most difficult thing I’ve done was to drive away from my house. Everything else has felt right. I haven’t felt unsafe for any reason, people, animals, weather, situations, etc… I haven’t been uncomfortable or ill or hungry. I have had a little trouble sleeping soundly through each night, but that happens at home too. And, even so, I haven’t been drowsy driving.

I finally bought more C batteries today, so I can inflate my air mattress. Until now I have been sleeping on a piece of wood with two yoga mats and a camp roll on it. Not the most comfortable, but it has done the trick. Tonight I sleep on an inflated mattress, and I’m pretty psyched about it. I have yet to find a tent site that will accommodate my hammock, so I have yet to use it. Bummer.

I have reached bear country. Little did I realize that I would be surrounded by sappy pine trees that don’t want to work with my bear bag, though I’m sure the neighbors had a big laugh watching me try. I know I did. I don’t know how many times I threw the rope up into the tree only to have it immediately get stuck in pine needles, then pull it back down and instantly¬†be covered in sticky sap. I felt like a cartoon character. And, I don’t have a bear box like the signs suggest. I guess I’ll be sleeping with food in the car and the windows closed tonight. I’ll let you know how it goes. Goodnight from the Tahoe National Forest.

 

Published by

Art Teacher Abroad

I'm an art educator on a mission to explore every nook of the earth. Follow my photography on Instagram @virginiatrailslayer

Leave a Reply

